I can read! (Almost.)

I read a sentence today in Macedonian!!

I also celebrated like Will Ferrell finding out Santa is coming to town. It was really normal. Luckily, my first-week roomies have already adjusted to my weird outbursts.

995d791f0645d56c10cc4bccc5bcf26d4e405d4dda9be6c3e217d96fe4d9cd3b

We had our first language lesson today and we focused on the Cyrillic alphabet. I had done some studying before we left, because the only languages I know are English and sarcasm and I was nervous. It’s not a requirement, but I was glad I had because some of the letter sounds are tricky. (It’s also been nice to at least be able to say hello and thank you to the cafeteria staff. You should always be the nicest to the people feeding you.)

We started with pronouncing and identifying all the letters in the Cyrillic alphabet and then played a few games to reinforce both skills. It’s a little tricky because some letters look like English letters, but stand for other sounds. There is a B, but it sounds like V. There is a P, but it sounds like R. Then there are letters that stand for consonant blends.

I was psyched to be in a classroom with five other trainees learning. (Just as nerdy as it sounds.) I loved how quickly we moved from talking about what we were going to do and actually beginning the process.

We also spelled our names in Cyrillic. (Shoutout to Cyrillic for having one sound for each letter. It makes life so much easier.)

This is what Rebekah becomes: РеБека.

You can see what I mean about the P.

Anyway, I was studying a little bit tonight, and I sounded out a sentence and was able to understand the Macedonian phrase!

It’s much less ground-breaking than it sounds. The sentence was “I am Ana.” Either way, it felt like a big deal to me.

I noticed today too that I’m getting ads online in Macedonian now. Big Brother is one sly dog. I was checking out an adorable video of the Apparently Kid, who hails from my area in Pennsylvania, when I saw this ad. I can’t read this one yet, but you better believe I know all the letters.

I love Ellen. I also love the Apparently Kid, who got his start stealing the show on the local news station where I'm from. Check out the ad above it. I know those letters now!

I love Ellen. I also love the Apparently Kid, who got his start stealing the show on the local news station where I’m from. Check out the ad above it. I know those letters now!

3 thoughts on “I can read! (Almost.)

  1. I AM YOUR BIGGEST FAN 🙂 I learned the alphabet when I went to Mongolia, but a semester abroad is not nearly as motivating to learn a language, so I pretty much stopped there… WAY TO GO ❤

    Like

  2. “The only languages I know are English and sarcasm” LOL This is why I love you.

    I’m so glad you got right into learning. They waste no time, apparently!

    Like

Leave a Reply

