I have a ridiculous list of all the questions friends and family had about Macedonia before I left. Some of them are involved, like breaking down gender roles. Others are a little easier, like what are the cars like?

My pal Big Jim (not an ironic nickname) wanted to know what kind of wheels this country had to offer. I’ll post more as I travel around, but this is what I’ve seen walking around town.

Without further ado, the cars of Macedonia (that I’ve seen so far).

There are also a ton of these motorbikes. They're more dirtbike than motorcycle. I've seen few helmets and they cruise at whatever speed they want.

There are a ton of these motorbikes. (This one is in my yard.) They’re more dirtbike than motorcycle. I’ve seen few helmets and they cruise at whatever speed they want.

I've seen these comby/comvee (not sure exactly what everyone has been calling them) vans all over. They were more prevalent in Tetevo. The school we stayed at used these to transport students and transport us.

I’ve seen these comby/comvee (not sure exactly what everyone has been calling them) vans all over. They were more prevalent in Tetevo. The school we stayed at used these to transport students and transport us.

I've seen a couple old school Herbie vehicles around town and I get psyched every time. I know nothing about cars, but I recognize these.

I’ve seen a couple old school Herbie vehicles around town and I get psyched every time. I know nothing about cars, but I recognize these.

Another shot of a comvee in action.

Another shot of a comvee in action.

A lot of the cars seem old to me.

A lot of the cars seem old to me.

I don't know the difference between makes/models in the US. I know nothing here, but I know Ford. (One of few brands I recognized.)

I don’t know the difference between makes/models in the US. I know nothing here, but I know Ford. (One of few brands I recognized.)

Sometimes they park in super narrow driveways. Sometimes in the yard. Sometimes on the sidewalk. Sometimes on the street.

Sometimes they park in super narrow driveways. Sometimes in the yard. Sometimes on the sidewalk. Sometimes on the street.

IMG_8047

Some kind of ad?

Some kind of ad?

This is a very typical car, in my assessment so far. My host dad drives something similar. (But it's broken right now. Kaput, he says.)

This is a very typical car, in my assessment so far. My host dad drives something similar. (But it’s broken right now. Kaput, he says.)

Sveti is a small city, but it's not uncommon to see a tractor riding down the street or parked in someone's yard.

Sveti is a small city, but it’s not uncommon to see a tractor riding down the street or parked in someone’s yard.

Probably the most popular color I've seen.

Probably the most popular color I’ve seen.

More old style cars.

More old style cars.

IMG_8014

If it breaks, it stays. I've seen several "kaput cars" around town.

If it breaks, it stays. I’ve seen several “kaput cars” around town.

IMG_8011 IMG_8008 IMG_8001 IMG_7998 IMG_7997

You got a MAK car

2 thoughts on “You got a MAK car

  1. Beka, thanks for that excellent report. There is, indeed, a wide variety of familiar, bizarre and exotic cars over there. But imagine if we rolled into Sveti Nikole on the Gold Wing. They would treat us like gods from outer space. 🙂 Big Jim

    Like

Leave a Reply

