Learning the language has been important, but a very close second place has been trying all the news snacks and chocolates this beautiful country has to offer.

It’s been tough, but I’ve been dutifully snacking and documenting all the sweet and savory treats I’ve encountered so far.

It’s really been for you good people. I want to make sure I share Macedonia with you, so eating everything has been a selfless act. (Most of the chocolate bars are somewhere around $0.25. It’s a slippery slope.)

In no particular order, I give you the snacks of Macedonia (so far):

The Peace Corps Macedonia staff turned the headquarters into a semi-haunted house for our visit. We even got these hard, sugar candies on our way in. Best staff ever.

The Peace Corps Macedonia staff turned the headquarters into a semi-haunted house for our visit. We even got these hard, sugar candies on our way in. Best staff ever.

Our language teacher made us an apple crumble. He gets our learning style.

Our language teacher made us an apple crumble. He gets our learning style.

Okay, so these aren't from Macedonia, but another volunteer graciously shared her stash and it was incredible.

Okay, so these aren’t from Macedonia, but another volunteer graciously shared her stash and it was incredible.

Another familiar candy with a twist. This is a delicious hazelnut Kit Kat.

A familiar candy with a twist. This is a delicious hazelnut Kit Kat.

These are so popular it's insane. They look like cheese puffs, but taste like peanut butter. I initially thought they were weird, but now they're growing on me.

These are so popular it’s insane. They look like cheese puffs, but taste like peanut butter. I initially thought they were weird, but now they’re growing on me.

Twix bar covered in white chocolate. Not too shabby.

Twix bar covered in white chocolate. Not too shabby.

IMG_8638

Caramel, nougat, and almonds. These are a few of my favorite things.

 

They also have chicken drum flavored. No tofu flavored so far, but I'll keep you posted. #vegetarianproblems

They also have chicken drum flavored. No tofu flavored so far, but I’ll keep you posted. #vegetarianproblems

IMG_8724

Pizza flavored. They have a lot of pizza flavored snacks. (Typically, pizza is made with ketchup here too, FYI.)

 

EVERYTHING is ketchup flavored.

EVERYTHING is ketchup flavored.

You've seen this before, but it's just so pretty. We made apple pie for our site announcement day. Yum.

You’ve seen this before, but it’s just so pretty. We made apple pie for our site announcement day. Yum.

The bakery is dangerous. We got a dozen of these tiny pastries with apple filling. Perfect bites.

The bakery is dangerous. We got a dozen of these tiny pastries with apple filling. Perfect bites.

Blueberry juice. It's as good as it sounds.

Blueberry juice. It’s as good as it sounds.

It tastes like a s'more. I was in heaven.

It tastes like a s’more. I was in heaven.

This is the love child of chocolate and gummies. Pretty tasty.

This is the love child of chocolate and gummies. Pretty tasty.

I can't post about snacks in Macedonia without burek. It's a flaky, filo dough, sort of crust filled with cheese and other goodness.

I can’t post about snacks in Macedonia without burek. It’s a flaky, filo-ish dough, filled with cheese and other goodness.

We went out for dinner with staff members after our most recent trip to the capital. We stopped at a bakery in the center of the city and found these tiny ice cream treats. Caramel on the left and banana on the right. (They lasted about five minutes.)

We went out for dinner with staff members after our most recent trip to the capital. We stopped at a bakery in the center of the city and found these tiny ice cream treats. Caramel on the left and banana on the right. (They lasted about five minutes.)

Another volunteer found these in the capital. They're a cousin of Doritos and very good.

Another volunteer found these in the capital. They’re a cousin of Doritos and very good.

Another day. Another baking adventure. We made chocolate chip banana bread for one of our training sessions. I could have eaten the entire pan.

Another day. Another baking adventure. We made chocolate chip banana bread for one of our training sessions. I could have eaten the entire pan.

We made Macedonian s'mores this weekend. We roasted marshmellow candies and put them between chocolate biscuits. Perfection.

We made Macedonian s’mores this weekend. We roasted marshmallow candies and put them between chocolate-covered biscuits. Perfection.

I thought I was super late for class the other day, but I was actually super early. I reflected on my ability to read a watch over a cherry fruit filled pastry from the bakery. (The name of the bakery translates to 'good morning.')

I thought I was super late for class the other day, but I was actually super early. I reflected on my ability to read a watch over a cherry fruit-filled pastry from the bakery. (The name of the bakery translates to ‘good morning.’)

IMG_8428

I love all gummy food. This was a no brainer. A lot of the bigger stores carry Haribo too.

IMG_8426

Fig newtons! They’re not quite like the ones in the U.S., but the flavor is there.

IMG_8304

This also kind of tasted like a s’more, which made me happy. It had a marshmallow layer on top of cake and covered in chocolate.

IMG_8264

These cake bars are legit. They come in fruit and vanilla varieties and they remind me of tasty cakes or some sort of Little Debbie creation.

IMG_8423

I don’t really know what this one was, but it had chocolate, cake and honey. Delicious.

IMG_8537

Our language teacher also made us carrot cake. He really gets us.

IMG_8086

It’s brewed in the capital and it’s basically, the beer of Macedonia. I’ll survive two years with it.

IMG_8072

This was dinner one night. The tub is full of a milk and white chocolate spread. My host sisters and I were pretty pumped. We also got to stay up past our bed time, so it was a big night.

IMG_8150

It seems to be a grazing culture. There are always snacks around. This is a pretty common sight in my living/dining room. More commonly, my hand is reaching for more of whatever is on the table.

IMG_8234

Let’s take another moment to admire the beauty that is ajvar. So, so good.

IMG_8307

These weren’t that good. The cookies were hard and the chocolate filling was disappointing. (It’s the only snack I haven’t devoured here.)

IMG_8306

There are a lot of variations of the layered wafer cookie. This one was dunked in chocolate, with layers of a peanut butter spread. Not mad.

IMG_8548

I can’t tell you anything about this cake except it appeared in front of me one night and I had to stop myself from licking the plate. The chocolate sauce was delish. The cake itself was light, but the best part was that it had been soaked in some sort of simple syrup. I’m now wishing I had licked the plate.

IMG_8573

 

The sad part is, there are many more snacks that I either ate before I snapped a photo or accidentally deleted. Don’t worry. I’ll keep working hard and snacking. (And maybe I’ll think about buying bigger pants.)

 

Snacks on Snacks on Snacks

4 thoughts on “Snacks on Snacks on Snacks

    • Missing you guys too! I’ve been following all of the latest news online. (Sounds like it’s been a crazy few months.) Don’t you worry. The pups of Macedonia is a work in progress. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

